About The Emirates

HomeAbout The Emirates

The Emirates

Official name: The United Arab Emirates (also the UAE or the Emirates) Location: is a Middle Eastern country situated in the southeast of the Arabian Peninsula in Southwest Asia on the Persian Gulf, comprising seven emirates: Abu Dhabi, Ajmān, Dubai, Fujairah, Ras al-Khaimah, Sharjah, and Umm al-Quwain. It borders on Saudi Arabia , Quatar, Оman.

Total area: Emirates occupies a total area of about 83,600 square kilometers (32,400 square miles), along the south-eastern tip of the Arabian Peninsula between 22°50 and 26°N and between 51° and 56°25 E. Qatar lies to the west and north-west, Saudi Arabia to the west and south and Oman to the north, east and south-east.

Population: more than 9.206 mlllion people (2012). More than 80% are foreigners from other countries. Ethnical Arabs are about 48,1% of all the population ( The UAE Arabs – 12,2%, Bedouins – 9,4%, Egyptian Arabs – 6,2%, Omani Arabs – 4,1%, Saudi arabs – 4%), The South Asia imigrants – 35,7%, Iranians – 5%, Philipinos – 3,4%, Europeans – 2,4%, others – 5,4%.

Capital: Abu Dhabi Climate: dry, transitional from tropical to subtropical. The temperature from November to may varies between +18 up to +26 °С, and from june to August – from +30 up to +38 °С.

Political Structure: A Federal State. There are 7 emirates: Abu Dhabi, Ajmān, Dubai, Fujairah, Ras al-Khaimah, Sharjah, and Umm al-Quwain. Each emirate is an Absolute Monarchy and reserves a self-dependency. Due to the constitution of 1971, the head of the government is The Federal Supreme Council, comprising of the leaders of the seven emirates. The UAE is a member of the UNO (since 1971), and of OPEC, The Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries, of the International Monetary Fund, the World Trade Organization (WTO), and also of AGCC.

Emirates: Abu Dhabi is the biggest of the seven emirates, it comprises of the Abu Dhabi city and oasis cities Al Ain and Liwa.The second biggest emirate is Dubai. HH Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Ruler of Abu Dhabi, was elected as the new President of the United Arab Emirates on 3 November 2004, to succeed his father, the late HH Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan, UAE President from 1971 to 2004.It is the world famous trade center, known for it’s gold, silk, fish and spice markets. The Sharjah emirate – is the only emirate that has alcohol prohibitions. Ajmān – is the smallest emirate.
The Ras al-Khaimah emirate – is the most northern and fruitful emirate.
The Umm al-Quwain emirate has a very jagged coast line.
The Fujairah emirate is located on the coast of Gulf of Oman, right in the heart of the Khadjar mountains. The pride of the emirate are sandy beaches, mountain capes, picturesque canyons.

Currency: Emirati Dirham (DH or AED), 1AUD= 3.44224AED

Оfficial language: Arabic, English is widely spoken as well.

Time: 4 hrs behind Perth time.

How to get there: Dubai – is the main transport unit in Persian Gulf. There are regular direct flights Australia – Dubai with Emirates airlines and a few other carriers.

Religion: Islam

Official holidays:
January 1st – New Year
August 6th – Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan’s accession to the throne
December 2nd – Independence day